Page 1 of 1

ARMbasic not running in a win32 enviorment

Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2020 8:36 pm
by C_hater
Hi Basicchip,
Just tried to install Armbasic also on an older "Lab PC" running Windows10 32 bit. Installation worked properly but when starting the program I received the "blue box" message : "This App can not be executed on the PC. Apply to the the software developer to find a suitable version for your PC "
Is it intended by Coridium not to support Win32 anymore ( I found no installation prerequisites on the homepage) or is the rootcause again found in unforeseeable windows updates?
The installed Notepad works fine.

regards C_hater

Re: ARMbasic not running in a win32 enviorment

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:48 pm
by basicchip
BASICtools is a Tcl file, and it uses FreeWrap as a runtime environment. About a year ago I started seeing issues of running 32bit apps on 64bit Win10. They would work, but would often pause for a couple seconds, and that was cured by switching to a 64 bit version.

I wasn't sure there were any 32bit machines out there anymore, especially running Win10. Well I guess there are. I will post a link to a 32bit version of BASICtools, in the next hour. And then also include a BASICtools32 in the installer.

Re: ARMbasic not running in a win32 enviorment

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 2:01 pm
by basicchip
32 bit version of BASICtools at

https://www.coridium.us/files/BASICtools32.exe

Re: ARMbasic not running in a win32 enviorment

Posted: Tue Sep 22, 2020 9:43 pm
by C_hater
Thanks basicchip.
Now also my old PC is proudly controlling an ARM chip!

regards
C_hater