incomplete error message ?

Questions about the BASICtools and MakeItC
Post Reply
olzeke51
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

incomplete error message ?

Post by olzeke51 »

Running a program on the '812 eval chip snippet--
SetTime:
r_index = 0
.........
gosub pretty_string(secs$)
done:
print "time is set"
call RTC_read_time
return
'
'**********************
I renamed the RTC_read_time to RTC_display_time
and didn't catch all the places that I referred to it.
When I tried to Reload File I got the following error message -- line number appears to be missing on a 'CALL' type of subroutine??
'
Analyzing C:/Coridium/Basic/Projects/812_hvac_relay_brd01.bas
Programming Flash 0812...
ARMbasic[9.34g] on the PC Copyright 2014, Coridium Corp.
*+*+*+*+
... ( 2.41K code + 0.41K const)/4K 0.36/1K data programmed


Analyzing C:/Coridium/Basic/Projects/812_hvac_relay_brd01.bas
Programming Flash 0812...


-ERROR Undefined Label RTC_READ_TIME

* * * * * *
it was also in this Select Case !!
'
case 1 to 9
' case 1 'display time
if choice = 1 then call RTC_read_time
' case 2 'set time
if choice = 2

* * * * *
I saved the /TEMP folder files if you want them .
Thanks, Gary



basicchip
Posts: 1028
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: incomplete error message ?

Post by basicchip »

If you are still trying to CALL RTC_read_time which doesn't exist, you're going to get error messages.

Errors can cascade and you end up with errors on errors and at that point not much point in going any further until the first errors are fixed.

Sounds like a case of GIGO, garbage in garbage out

olzeke51
Posts: 394
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: incomplete error message ?

Post by olzeke51 »

after further testing ; an undefined gosub/funcion/call routine will generate an "undefined label" without a line number.
IF there are any issues in the calling or passing of variables - you will get a line number
'
different kinds of garbage !! - NOW I know.

basicchip
Posts: 1028
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: incomplete error message ?

Post by basicchip »

This is a feature. When most errors occur, the compiler is handling a certain line. But for labels that are not declared it doesn't know that until the end of the file and the compiler does not keep a list of line numbers for labels.

Post Reply