BAUD() error message

Questions about the BASICtools and MakeItC
Post Reply
olzeke51
Posts: 414
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

BAUD() error message

Post by olzeke51 »

Okay, ran this on a BASICchip Programmer and the 800-DIP (modified BLINKY.bas)
works fine, accepts my IF RXD(0)= &H7A ["z"] then exit
BUT When I define BAUD(0)=115200 [default for both chips]
1) prints garbage - looks like wrong baud??
2) when I attempt to send a "z" I get this error: and no action - keeps looping
'
baud_err.jpg
baud_err.jpg (123.82 KiB) Viewed 12599 times
'
this may be a situation to leave it alone - though I was wanting to send the
USB data through an RS-232 serial cable to a Terminal app.
'
any ideas/comments?
Olzeke51

added full line of the statement and corrected misspelling



basicchip
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Weeki Watchee, FL
Contact:

Re: BAUD() error message

Post by basicchip »

Well uart0 is already initialized to 115kbaud, and most likely the fractional rate is set as discussed elsewhere here in the forum.

So why are you resetting it anyway? It is the debug port, and changing baud makes debug difficult.

basicchip
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Weeki Watchee, FL
Contact:

Re: BAUD() error message

Post by basicchip »

Looking at you code you should leave the baud rate alone IF you want to run the debugger.

In your application you can set a slower baud, if faster you will need to deal with the fractional rate generator.

olzeke51
Posts: 414
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: BAUD() error message

Post by olzeke51 »

Here's why:
1) BT resets the board when Windows10 comes out of sleep mode - loosing/changing data
2) I am using a standard PC RS-232 serial port to transmit/rcv data in TclTerm
3) DEBUGGING was only for narrowing down the error message
4) this will be a serial port concentrator/server of sorts, with various baud rates
. and utilizing all UARTs - didn't want to dedicate one to just debug/downloading
. [the Standard USB/UART(0) will be utilized as the main data stream]
.
I assumed since 115Kbaud was in the pull down menu - that it would have some default values
(that were also being used for main BT USB comm).
[FYI - normal power on and defining BAUD(0) both work on TclTerm and usually on USB
-- usually the RXD(0) fails and throws the compile error -( this time a 2) when using the USB]
Your recent comment - would also seem to corraborate this
In your application you can set a slower baud, if faster you will need to deal with the fractional rate generator.
'
does this imply that 38.4 ( 48 / 57.6) kbauds are defined in the compiled program or in firmware???? -- just curious.....
Olzeke51

PS not an issue - the older TclTerm.exe method is accomplishing what I wanted

basicchip
Posts: 1090
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Weeki Watchee, FL
Contact:

Re: BAUD() error message

Post by basicchip »

issue 1 - addressed in the help files, and work arounds which include cutting the reset line

issue 3 - if you want debug running then just leave BAUD alone on startup

issue 4 - you may have to dig into the User Manual for the LPC824.

Post Reply