DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat

Post details of your projects here.
basicchip
Posts: 1025
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat

Post by basicchip »

I am new to KiCAD, and was not sure what all files needed to be in a zip so you can copy my design.

From what I read for thermo2, you need .pro .sch .kicad_pcb and -cache.lib

I've updated those in the above post. If that is still not working for you LET ME KNOW. I would also be interested if you layout this board for a different and cheaper housing. I was stuck with the Erie housing as that what is all around my house and I did not want to change it. Those Erie thermostats are pricey $40-50.



basicchip
Posts: 1025
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat

Post by basicchip »

And added sym-lib-table which should point to the thermo2-cache.lib

Again let me know if this loads it all for you.

olzeke51
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat

Post by olzeke51 »

Hey Y'all,
I was testing out my version of the Thermostat (based on Basicchip's early prototype pcb)
and had left it connected overnight to my USB hub - no battery or AC input.
the ARMStamp and the daughter board were WARM !! I would say maybe 5* F above ambient.
Didn't have the system doing anything - it had completed an AD(5) [Sense_Vin] routine.
FWIW - it takes a little while for the C2/rectifier cap to discharge -
. in fact I added a 9.1K across C2 to give me about a 5 sec - 1RCtimeconstant - discharge
. under a no load condition - my battery charge circuit wasn't connected
.
So - the onboard temperature sensor might be influenced by the warmup of the daughter PCB.
Olzeke
EDIT PS - I haven't done any investigation so far, but will keep an eye/finger on it !!
. and post any findings

olzeke51
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

Re: DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat - NOT Warm

Post by olzeke51 »

Y'all
been running tests of various sorts , had power (via USB) on all day - ?9 hours?
NOT WARM ......
Turns out I had some stuff tied to the 5V pin (pin 21 on the Stamp set of pins)
Whewwwoo
Gary

olzeke51
Posts: 395
Joined: Sat May 17, 2014 4:22 pm
Location: South Carolina

DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat - FWIW data

Post by olzeke51 »

Hey Y'all,
been monitoring the times that my system turns on, and length of time.
here is my data in a spreadsheet::
5 34 14 20053 269 36 was set for 71
5 41 13 20472 1170 36 turned up to 73
6 8 44 22123 569 36
6 25 14 23113 299 36
6 36 44 23803 479 36
6 52 14 24733 299 36
7 5 44 25543 299 36
7 18 14 26293 268 36
7 30 44 27043 298 36
7 45 14 27913 268 36
7 58 14 28693 269 37
hr min sec secs t-on outside temp
I noticed it turns on on the half minute, and once it is on;
it stays on for what appears to be half minute variance between
some of the turn off (see t-on time lapse in seconds) -once stabilized !!!
** probably sleeps for 30 seconds, wakes up and decides what to do
** would save battery power as I don't have a 'common' wire to my
** thermostat - traditional / old 4 wire system

??how are tabs & spaces done in this forum?? -- creation looks good, but 'submit' sucks
short_temp_data.jpg
short_temp_data.jpg (48.77 KiB) Viewed 4496 times
the 'secs' column is seconds since midnight - thot it would help with math formula
Last edited by olzeke51 on Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:10 am, edited 2 times in total.

basicchip
Posts: 1025
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:39 am
Location: Lake Tahoe, CA
Contact:

Re: DIY WiFi Programmable Thermostat

Post by basicchip »

You can attach files including .xls types (spreadsheets), according to a menu I just looked at. Never tried that myself, I always graphed the data in the spreadsheet (I use Open Office), and then took a screen shot of it and posted it.

A 4 wire system (must be heat and cooling), if that's the case one of the pairs should always have 24VAC on it so you could steal power that way. I have a 2 wire system here (heat only). Some newer houses here have air conditioning, but you need it about 3 days a year, and at my house I just open a window and turn on the fans.

Post Reply